By purchasing original products, you are helping the financing and operation of the Partizan Basketball Club.

Stories about Partizan - POP 27 - Double crown for Europe

by Ivan Toskov on December 04, 2020

POP 27 - "Double Crown for Europe"

After winning the title of European champion (along with trophies in the championship and domestic cup) in 1992, Partizan failed to win the title of national champion in the following two seasons. That changed in the 1994/95 season, when our club won the Cup and won its sixth championship.

First, already in March 1995, the team led by coach Borislav Džaković defended the title of Cup winner by defeating Spartak Subotica 84:81 in the final of the final tournament in Čačak. The dominant Željko Rebrača, captain Zoran Stevanović and the young Predrag Drobnjak formed an unstoppable central trio. The great scorer Miroslav Berić, together with Nikola Lončar and Haris Brkić, were the striking force in the back positions. Among the youngsters, Aleksandar Čubrilo and Vlada Petrović showed the most, who practically saved the team from defeat in the semi-final match against BFC (87:85 after overtime).

However, it was clear to everyone that this trophy will not have its full weight if the team, after a two-year break, does not return the title of national champion. Because, since the sports sanctions of the FRY were lifted in the meantime, she was the guarantor for participation in the strongest European club competition, the Euroleague.

Black and white achieved the desired success in the playoffs. Two narrow victories over Ivo from Sabac in the quarter-finals and two convincing triumphs over Spartak in the semi-finals led them to the final series, where they defeated Borovica from Ruma with a 4-1 victory and reached the new championship title.

Players who played for Partizan in the FRY Championship in the 1994/95 season (in brackets are the number of points and the number of appearances): Željko Rebrača (471/27), Miroslav Berić (460/28), Haris Brkić (370/26), Nikola Lončar (299/24), Zoran Stevanović (252/24), Predrag Drobnjak (218/28), Aleksandar Čubrilo (139/27), Dragan Ristanović (119/28), Mlađan Šilobad (99/25), Nikola Bulatović ( 97/28), Vladimir Petrović (20/23), Vladimir Vidačić (18/23), Želimir Stevanović (2/14), Milan Radovanović (0/3).


Please note, comments must be approved before they are published